Revolution by Jessica Frances ~ Blog Tour: #BookReview & #Giveaway



Hey Donnie Darlings! Welcome to my stop on the Revolution Blog Tour hosted by Reading Addiction Book Tours. 
Click here to follow along with the full tour schedule! 

 

Revolution 
by Jessica Frances
Published: 01/26/16
Genre: New Adult Dystopian
Source: Copy for review

Purchase: Amazon





Synopsis   

I was raised in a world where humans no longer rule. 

In the past, we made a terrible mistake by creating a new species we thought would serve us as our army, which led to our downfall. 

There was a war, we lost, and many lives were massacred. It was the end of life as we knew it and the beginning of a hell we were now trapped in. We became enslaved to what we now called Superiors, becoming pets to them, simply there to entertain. 

In a world so miserable, I managed to do the unthinkable: I fell in love. But even that was doomed, because to love a Superior was forbidden.

What the rest of the Superiors didn’t know was how deeply a human could love or how resilient we became when we were hurt.
The Superiors never could have imagined an uprising, which was why they never saw it coming.

Humans deserved to be free, and I would stop at nothing to deliver that promise.
My name is Tilly, and I am still alive with one sole purpose: to begin a revolution.

~

I had been raised to believe humans were worthless. We owned them and controlled them, and when we were done with them, we threw them away. Therefore, I never thought I would ever feel more for Tilly than disinterest. I never expected to want to save her.

It was forbidden for a Superior to love a human. No one had ever crossed that line, but I did. I fell madly in love with her, so it was no surprise how we ended up.

I was raised to be a soldier, and that was what I was always going to be. However, I was not a soldier for the Superiors, not anymore.
I became a soldier for humans, and I would stop at nothing to help them. They deserved to be free, and I would die protecting them.

My name is Johnny, and I am here with one sole purpose: to finish a revolution.




Revolution is an enthralling read with a horrifying concept - what if humans became enslaved by the very beings they created? That's exactly what happens when those beings called Superiors, take over and keep humans as "pets" for social status, or humans are put to work in jobs that Superiors feel they're too good for. They're treated as garbage and looked down upon as an inferior species. Some humans are forced to fight each other to the death or become "baby-making machines." 

Tilly is a human kept as a pet by a rich and influential family. The daughter of the family, Charlotte, becomes endeared with Tilly, and the son of the family, Johnny, falls in love with her, which is completely forbidden.  

The story is told in alternating POV between Tilly and Johnny and alternating time between present and past. I liked the way Revolution was told, and Tilly made me anxious to find out what happens next. I really liked her character as well as Charlotte and Johnny. There's a typical direction this kind of story could have taken, but I'm so glad the author chose her own way. 

Revolution is one of the most engaging and interesting dystopians I've read in a while, and I'm looking forward to more from this author. 




About the Author 


Jessica Frances is an avid reader and writer, spending most of her free time doing both. She loves delving into the paranormal world and taking a break from real life as much as possible.





Continue Reading >>

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace ~ Blog Tour: #Review & #Giveaway




Shallow Graves
by Kali Wallace
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: January 26th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Horror, Zombies, Fantasy, Thriller, Contemporary, Fiction, Mystery, Supernatural
Rating: 5 / 5 


Synopsis:


For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.




The premise of Shallow Graves is so awesome! Imagine waking up one year after you died to find out you can sense if a person is a murderer or not. The story is fresh and clever, and I couldn't get enough! 

That first sentence really got me. As far as first sentences go, it was the perfect one to pull me into the story right away. It jumped out at me, and I wanted to find out more about Breezy. She's a character who's interesting and intelligent. She isn't wandering around feeling sorry for herself, nope, she's taking action and has become a sort of vigilante, ridding the world of murderers one at a time. 

I'm not sure I can go out in public anymore without thinking about killers hiding in plain sight. That thought was one that freaked me out the most in Shallow Graves. I was so freaked out that when I tried to go to sleep, I kept peeking one eye open to make sure no one creepy was there. Yikes!  

I can't believe Shallow Graves is Kali Wallace's first novel! The writing is phenomenal, and I was left wanting more. I can't wait to see what she has up her sleeve next. 

If you love suspense, fresh ideas, intelligent main characters and compelling storytelling, you really need to check out Shallow Graves!   






 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Follow the Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.



Kali Wallace studied geology and geophysics before she decided she enjoyed inventing imaginary worlds as much as she liked researching the real one. Her short fiction has appeared in Clarkesworld, F&SF, Asimov's, Lightspeed Magazine, and Tor.com. Her first novel will be published by Katherine Tegen Books in 2016. She lives in southern California.




US ONLY






Continue Reading >>

Every Big & Little Wish by E.C. Moore ~ Blog Tour: #Review & #Giveaway


Welcome, Donnie Darlings, to my stop on the Every Big & Little Wish Blog Tour hosted by Xpresso Book Tours! Click here to follow along with the full tour schedule.


Every Big & Little Wish 
by E.C. Moore
Published by: Booktrope Publishing
Publication Date: 10/20/15
Genres: Romance, Young Adult
Source: Copy for review 

Purchase: Amazon    





Synopsis


E.C. Moore's young adult novel, Every Big and Little Wish, opens in late spring 1970. Sixteen-year-old Jacy Wilbert's Mom got promoted, so her parents sold their Victorian home in California and moved to a townhouse in Oregon.

Torn away from the only home she's ever known, forced to leave her beloved German shepherd behind, Jacy feels misplaced. Exacerbating an already terrible situation, her dad runs off with the bombshell real estate agent who sold them their townhouse. And, just when it seems things can't get any worse, her mom loses the stupid job they left California for in the first place and begins to drown her sorrows with pink wine, night after night. Jacy's caught in the middle, struggling to maintain a relationship with her AWOL dad while tolerating his annoying, much-younger girlfriend. 

Missing old friends back in California, and feeling like an outsider, Jacy needs to build a new social life in a new school. Not the sort of girl to wait around for what she wants to come her way, she sets her sights on Neil Wilder, the best-looking boy around. 

Everything changes when Jacy Wilbert knocks on the wrong door. 



Every Big & Little Wish really made me feel for the main character, Jacy! She's been through so much change through the actions of her parents, and everything feels out of her control. When she becomes friends with Neil, everything changes all over again, and I couldn't help thinking how unfair it was for Jacy. Once again, where she lived and what she could do was out of her hands. 

I also really felt for Neil. He's been through so much that no kid should ever have to face, and it was difficult to read about his home life. The thing I really admired about Jacy was that she never even thought about running for the hills when Neil told her just how dysfunctional his family is. She stuck by Neil, and I think she was a presence in his life he sorely needed. 

At first I really didn't like Cay, but she grew on me. She doesn't have a positive view of herself like so many girls at her age, and I think her friendship with Jacy brought out self confidence. I just wish (see what I did there?) she didn't think she was only worthwhile because Jacy chose to be her friend.  

I really loved Every Big & Little Wish - the time it takes place in, the characters, and the story itself. I already know this is a novel I'll be re-reading in the future.     
  


About the Author 


When Elizabeth’s not writing feverishly, you will find her out walking or sightseeing. She’s crazy about coffee, books, cooking, good wine, cairn terriers, miniature ponies, historical houses, tapas, and witty people.

She resides in a fifties bungalow in Southern California, with her creative-director, hubba-hubba husband, a yappy blonde dog, and one feisty Chihuahua.







Blog Tour organized by:

Continue Reading >>
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...